Q. Is Pre-measuring is allowed?
Q. Are the Arcane Deck and Melee Deck shared by all players?
Q. Can a model use a STEP action to get out of engagement?
Q. What happens if you play a Critical Hit in Melee and then upgrade to your Signature Move?
A. The damage on the Signature Move is multiplied (x2 or x3 accordingly) as are any other effects printed on the Signature Move, such as damage reductions or bonus moves.
Q. Do Signature Move End Step effects still occur if the character that played the move was slain in the melee round?
A. Yes, unless specified otherwise in the effect they still occur even if the controlling character died.
Q. Can you lay down a Critical Defence (such double High Guard)?
A. The Critical Hit rule only duplicates damage, so there is no reason to lay down duplicates if they do not deal damage. However, holding duplicate defensive cards can be quite useful in its own right as it gives you information about what cards your opponent doesn’t have, allowing you to often make attacks you know can’t be defended.
Q. On Agatha’s Drink your Fill, can you give a model more energy than its number of energy pips?
A. Yes you can – its one of a number of abilities in the game that let you overload on energy. Basically the term ‘gains’ allows you to exceed the usual maximums, while ‘restore’ only allows you to get back up to your usual maximum but not exceed it.
Q. Does Doug the Flatulent suffer Dmg from his own Foul Gases ability?
A. Yes, area effects always include the active model that originated the effect, unless the phrase other models is used.
Q. Can a model squeeze through a gaps that is smaller than its base size, like a door?
A. Models can squeeze though gaps between two items of terrain or between an item of terrain and a friendly model, or between two friendly models as long they can end the move with sufficient room for their base to be placed flat on the table without overlapping another models base. However, you may not queeze through gaps created by enemy models or enemy models and terrain.
Q. What happens if modifiers would reduce a Melee or Arcane hand size to 0 cards or less?
A. You alway get to draw at least one card, no matter how many negative modifiers are applied.
Q. If I am shooting at someone out of a window do I measure horizontally, or at an angle between the two models?
A. All measurements are made horizontally. If you are in the elevated position you also benefit from increased range and can reduce the cover benefit the target receives (see the Elevated Possitions rule)
Q. Does a player have choice to back out of playing an Arcane Ability if they don’t like their hand?
A. Yes, a play can simply declare that they are not going to play a card. Their energy is wasted and the action ends.
Q. Are Arcane Cards drawn after choosing a target or before?
A. Targets must be declared before Arcane Cards are drawn as the target’s Evade stat and cover can effect the hand size drawn.
Q. Can Flintlock really only Shoot his Musket Once Per Game?
A. Flintlock can only use his Shoot Musket Ability once before needing to use his Reload ability. The reload ability resets the Musket to be used again.
Q. What is the ‘O’ symbol after ‘Once Per Game’?
The round symbol a space for players to mark in a dot with a dry wipe marker once the ability has been used. In testing we have found this a useful way of tracking if a weapon for example requires reloading or is ready to fire.
Q. Can you use Arcane Abilities (such as ‘Shoot Pistol’ or ‘Healing’) if you are engaged by an enemy model?
A. Yes, unless the ability specifically says otherwise, you can always use Arcane Abilities and Active abilities.
Q. Can you target Models with Arcane Abilities (such as ‘Shoot Pistol’ or ‘Healing’) if they are engaged in Melee.
A. Yes, you are not restricted from targeting engaged models provided you can draw line of sight as normal. Note however that intervening models (friendly and enemy) do block line of sight and do provide cover, so if there are intervening models between the active model and the target then the active model will have a reduced hand, or if the scene is so crowned that line of sight cannot be drawn at all then the target cannot be chosen.
Q. How does Silver Tongues mind control ability work?
A. First discard 3 energy from Silver Tongue to pay for the ability and select a target (Friendly or Enemy). Then select an action that is available to the target that would cost them (1) energy, for example a Step, Melee Attack, Harvest (non-weakings) or an Arcane or Active ability printed on the target characters card such as Shoot Musket. Now take that action as if the target were the active model and you its controller. The target counts as friendly during the action, so you could make a character Melee Attack a character that is normally friendly to them. The target of Mind Control does not discard energy to take the action, however abilities which are ‘Once per turn’ or ‘Once per game’ are considered used (and cannot be chosen by the Silver Tongue player if already used).
Q. At what point does the Spiteful ability cause the owner to restore the Wd?
A. Spiteful causes the owner of the ability to regain a Wd immediately after causing one or more Wd’s to an enemy as a new game step. The ability cannot be used if the owner was already slain in the previous step, for example in Melee where Wd’s to both parties are resolved simultaneously. However it can be used after initial Wd’s are scored but before any follow-up attacks are made.
Q. Do follow-ups attacks happen before End Step Effects?
A. Yes. There is only ever one End Step which occurs after damage has been dealt from both initial and follow up attacks. Any End Step effects from either the initial exchange or the Follow-Up attack happen simultaneously, after all Dmg has been applied.
Q. If I am the Defender and my opponent is outside of my Melee Range and I play a Signature Move do I still get my End Step effects?
A. No. If you are the defender in melee and your opponent is outside of your Melee Range your end step effects do not occur (in addition to you dealing no damage).
Q. Does it matter whether attackers of defenders draw their combat and arcane cards first.
Yes. Attackers always draw their cards first. In most cases this will make no difference but occasionally such as after Young Jack has used his Lucky ability it could be important.
Q. Why isn’t the deck shuffled after Young Jack uses his luck ability.
The only time the Arcane Deck is shuffled is immediately after an arcane action has been resolved. Since Lucky is an active ability, there is no shuffling.
Q. What happens to Moonstones carried by models when they are slain?
The active player (usually the player who just caused the model to be slain) places any Moonstones the model was carrying in base contact with the model displaying a depth value of ‘1’ and then removes the slain model from the board.
Q. If you are using Flintlock’s Shoot Musket ability, or McBooms Blunderbus ability and your opponent calls ‘bluff’ incorrectly can you fire again, even though the ability has not been reloaded?
In this situation, just like any other arcane ability you can replay the ability with the remaining cards in your hand, selecting a new target if you wish (provided you have LOS to them). There is no need to reload as this is all going on within a single action, and represents a single shot – hitting multiple targets should you choose this option could be thought of as representing a ricochet from the rifle of the natural spread of blunderbuss shot.