Rules FAQ

Q. Is Pre-measuring is allowed?

A. Yes.


Q. Are the Arcane Deck and Melee Deck shared by all players?

A. Yes.


Q. Can a model use a STEP action to get out of engagement?

A. Yes.


Q. What happens if you play a Critical Hit in Melee and then upgrade to your Signature Move?

A. The damage on the Signature Move is multiplied (x2 or x3 accordingly) as are any other effects printed on the Signature Move, such as damage reductions or bonus moves.


Q. Do Signature Move End Step effects still occur if the character that played the move was slain in the melee round?

A. Yes, unless specified otherwise in the effect they still occur even if the controlling character died.


Q. Can you lay down a Critical Defence (such double High Guard)?

A. The Critical Hit rule only duplicates damage, so there is no reason to lay down duplicates if they do not deal damage. However, holding duplicate defensive cards can be quite useful in its own right as it gives you information about what cards your opponent doesn’t have, allowing you to often make attacks you know can’t be defended.


Q. On Agatha’s Drink your Fill, can you give a model more energy than its number of energy pips?

A. Yes you can – its one of a number of abilities in the game that let you overload on energy. Basically the term ‘gains’ allows you to exceed the usual maximums, while ‘restore’ only allows you to get back up to your usual maximum but not exceed it.


Q. Does Doug the Flatulent suffer Dmg from his own Foul Gases ability?

A. Yes, area effects always include the active model that originated the effect, unless the phrase 'other models' is used.


Q. Can a model squeeze through a gaps that is smaller than its base size, like a door?

A. Models can squeeze though gaps between two items of terrain or between an item of terrain and a friendly model, or between two friendly models as long they can end the move with sufficient room for their base to be placed flat on the table without overlapping another models base. However, you may not squeeze through gaps created by enemy models or enemy models and terrain.


Q. What happens if modifiers would reduce a Melee or Arcane hand size to 0 cards or less?

A. You always get to draw at least one card, no matter how many negative modifiers are applied.


Q. If I am shooting at someone out of a window do I measure horizontally, or at an angle between the two models?

A. All measurements are made horizontally. If you are in the elevated position you also benefit from increased range and can reduce the cover benefit the target receives (see the Elevated Positions rule)


Q. Does a player have choice to back out of playing an Arcane Ability if they don’t like their hand?

A. Yes, a play can simply declare that they are not going to play a card. Their energy is wasted and the action ends.


Q. Are Arcane Cards drawn after choosing a target or before?

A. Targets must be declared before Arcane Cards are drawn as the target’s Evade stat and cover can effect the hand size drawn.


Q. Can Flintlock really only Shoot his Musket Once Per Game?

A. Flintlock can only use his Shoot Musket Ability once before needing to use his Reload ability. The reload ability resets the Musket to be used again.


Q. What is the ‘O’ symbol after ‘Once Per Game’?

The round symbol a space for players to mark in a dot with a dry wipe marker once the ability has been used. In testing we have found this a useful way of tracking if a weapon for example requires reloading or is ready to fire.


Q. Can you use Arcane Abilities (such as ‘Shoot Pistol’ or ‘Healing’) if you are engaged by an enemy model?

A. Yes, unless the ability specifically says otherwise, you can always use Arcane Abilities and Active abilities.


Q. Page 21 of the Rule Book 'Moving Through Gaps' says that models can move through Gaps between Terrain or Friendly Models that are smaller than their base provided they don’t overlap at the end of the move. What happens if Loci places 2 wooded patches 1mm apart?

A. Characters can move through the gap no matter how small it is. The only way to prevent it it to place the two wooded patches touching so that there is no gap. Not that it is not  usually possible to Step through very small gaps as bases will end up overlapping but Jog actions will usually be fine.


Q. Can Terrain items (such as the Wooded Patches created by Loci's Verdant Growth) be placed beneath models,  Moonstones, or other terrain?

A. No, new terrain can only be placed on Open Ground.


Q. Can I use a reaction Step to Move away from a Bag of Gold Token.

A. Yes. Reactions Steps are not Step actions (or 'Actions' at all) and so are unaffected by the Bag of Gold rules.


Q. If Danica, Dusk Witch successfully uses her ‘Puppeteer’ ability on Boris, the Bunny Summoner, can she move Murder Bunnies previously summoned by Boris?

A. Yes, the Bunnies are always friendly to Boris and so Danica can use her energy to have bunnies perform actions (excluding Jog, as normal for Puppeteer).


Q. If Danica, Dusk Witch successfully uses her ‘Puppeteer’ ability on Boris, the Bunny Summoner, can she summon a Murder Bunny and if so who controls it?

A. There is nothing stopping Danica from using Boris’s Summon Murder Bunny ability. The Bunny will be friendly to Boris so Danica can go on to force it to take actions by spending her energy during her activations. At all other times it is a normal Bunny,friendly to the Boris player's troupe and able to take actions during Boris's activation as normal.


Q. If Danica, Dusk Witch successfully uses her ‘Puppeteer’ ability on Boris, the Bunny Summoner, can she summon a Jackalope and if so who controls it?

A. If Danica uses her energy to summon a Jackalope via Boris’ Summon the Jackalope ability, then the Jackalope is placed in base contact with Boris but is a permanent member of Danica’s troupe for the remainder of the game! This can be done even if there is already a Jackalope in the Boris player’s troupe since during the Summon the Jackalope action that Jackalope will not be considered friendly to Boris. However for the same reason, the action cannot be taken if there is already a Jackalope in the Danica player’s troupe. A Jackalope added to Danica’s troupe in this was does not prevent Boris from using the Summon the Jackalope ability again in his own activation. If the Danica player does not have a suitable model to represent the Jackalope then they cannot take this action.


Q. If Danica, Dusk Witch successfully uses her ‘Puppeteer’ ability on Gwendoline or Kavanagh after they have removed a card from the Arcane deck using Scry or Juggling Fate respectively, can the Danica player look at and use the card(s)?

A. No, the removed card belongs to the player, rather than the character, it is simply placed besides the character to avoid mix-ups and confusion, since if the character is slain it is returned to the deck.


Q. If Danica, Dusk Witch successfully uses her ‘Puppeteer’ ability on Gwendoline or Kavanagh can she use Scry or Juggling Fate respectively, and if so what happens to the card(s) removed from the deck?

A. This is perfectly allowed, the card is removed and placed besides Danica’s stat card. The Danica player can now make use of the card during any arcane action for the remainder of the game, or until she is slain, as normal.


Q. If a character uses the Mind Control or Puppeteer Abilities, to have another character initiate a Melee Attack, Can they 'Go For It' and if so which character pays the 1 energy cost?

A. Melee Attacks initiated in this way may 'Go For It'  by discarding the required energy from the controlling character (i.e. Danica, Wendigo or Silvertongue).


Q. If a 'Mind Controlled' enemy Gotchgut is used to hit an enemy Noble in Melee, can the owner of the Noble move the Dmg back onto Gotchgut using his Bodyguard ability?

A. No, during the action Gotchgut is controlled by the Mind Controlling player and since Bodyguard is Gotchgut's ability, it is the Mind Controlling player's decision whether to use the ability of not.



Q. Can you target Models with Arcane Abilities (such as ‘Shoot Pistol’ or ‘Healing’) if they are engaged in Melee?

A. Yes, you are not restricted from targeting engaged models provided you can draw line of sight as normal. Note however that intervening models (friendly and enemy) do block line of sight and do provide cover, so if there are intervening models between the active model and the target then the active model will have a reduced hand, or if the scene is so crowned that line of sight cannot be drawn at all then the target cannot be chosen.


Q. How does Silver Tongue's Mind Control ability work?

A. First discard 3 energy from Silver Tongue to pay for the ability and select a target (Friendly or Enemy). Then select an action that is available to the target that would cost them (1) energy, for example a Step, Melee Attack, Harvest (non-weakings) or an Arcane or Active ability printed on the target character's card such as Shoot Musket. Now take that action as if the target were the active model and you its controller. The target counts as friendly during the action, so you could make a character Melee Attack a character that is normally friendly to them. The target of Mind Control does not discard energy to take the action, however abilities which are ‘Once per turn’ or ‘Once per game’ are considered used (and cannot be chosen by the Silver Tongue player if already used).


Q. At what point does the Spiteful ability cause the owner to restore the Wd?

A. Spiteful causes the owner of the ability to regain a Wd immediately after causing one or more Wd’s to an enemy as a new game step. The ability cannot be used if the owner was already slain in the previous step, for example in Melee where Wd’s to both parties are resolved simultaneously. However it can be used after initial Wd’s are scored but before any follow-up attacks are made.


Q. If a character with the Insatiable Hunger is Slain  during round of Melee but plays the Signature Move does it resolve, restoring all Wd's and Energy?

A. Once Slain, a character is unable to restore Wd's unless specifically stated otherwise and so in this case the Signature Move End Step Effect fails to resolve.


Q. Do follow-ups attacks happen before End Step Effects?

A. Yes. There is only ever one End Step which occurs after damage has been dealt from both initial and follow up attacks. Any End Step effects from either the initial exchange or the Follow-Up attack happen simultaneously, after all Dmg has been applied.


Q. If I am the Defender and my opponent is outside of my Melee Range and I play a Signature Move do I still get my End Step effects?

A. A character who is Out of Range can never deal damage. However any damage reduction abilities printed on a signature move can still be applied. End Step Effects that state that the enemy suffers Dmg or is Moved are ignored. However, all other End Step Effects, such as those that move yourself, do still occur. It should also be noted that unless an End Step Effect specifies otherwise, they still occur if possible, even if the character playing the ability was Slain during this round of Melee.


Q. Does it matter whether attackers of defenders draw their combat and arcane cards first.

Yes. Attackers always draw their cards first. In most cases this will make no difference but occasionally such as after Young Jack has used his Lucky ability it could be important.


Q. Why isn’t the deck shuffled after Young Jack uses his luck ability.

The only time the Arcane Deck is shuffled is immediately after an arcane action has been resolved. Since Lucky is an active ability, there is no shuffling.


Q. What happens to Moonstones carried by models when they are slain?

The active player (usually the player who just caused the model to be slain) places any Moonstones the model was carrying in base contact with the model displaying a depth value of ‘1’ and then removes the slain model from the board.


Q. If you are using Flintlock’s Shoot Musket ability, or McBooms Blunderbuss ability and  your opponent calls ‘bluff’ incorrectly can you fire again, even though the ability has not been reloaded?

In this situation, just like any other arcane ability you can replay the ability with the remaining cards in your hand, selecting a new target if you wish (provided you have LOS to them). There is no need to reload as this is all going on within a single action, and represents a single shot – hitting multiple targets should you choose this option could be thought of as representing a ricochet from the rifle of the natural spread of blunderbuss shot.


Q. What happens if Shabaroon uses Goblin Luck on Belladonna?

Shabroon's Goblin Luck ability allows him to cause a Catastrophe result on a target model. Any targets of the Catastrophe are chosen by the Shabroon player, but they must be valid targets of the arcane ability that the Catastrophe belongs to. In the case of Belladonna's Drop of Nightshade, the ability only targets enemies within 1", and so in order for Shabaroon to use Goblin Luck against Belladonna's Drop of Nightshade Catastrophe she must have an enemy within 1". If she does, then Goblin Luck can be used to Slay both Belladonna and the Enemy model (which will be a friendly model of Shabaroon in a 2-player game).


Q. Page 33 of the Rulebook says that End Step effects are multiplied if Critical Hits are played. How does the timing work when the End Step Effect includes both a move effect and a damage effect based on distance such as Ribald's Short Fuse End Step Effect?

A. All Numeric Values are multiplied by the number of cards played  so in the case of Ribald's Short Fuse, if two High Guards are played and upgraded then all models within 2", (including Ribald!) suffer 6 Magical Damage and are moved 2" directly away.


Q. When The Mortician uses Reanimate, are States and Effects Carried over (i.e. if a weapon was 'unloaded ' when the character was slain or has previously exploded, the character previously gained energy or has a stat modification etc...)?

A. All states and effects are cleared when a character is slain and all energy is removed. The re-animated character is in all ways a fresh instance of the character.


Q. Swiggarty's Luv'a da Booty: Does it trigger just for the first friendly pirate per turn or is it for the first action by each friendly pirate?

A. Only the first friendly Pirate to make a Melee Attack while within 6" of Swiggary benefits from the ability. Likewise with Agatha's Deutsch Courage and friendly soldiers/Mercenaries.


Q. For abilities like Doug's 'Digger' that can reduce the depth of a Moonstone multiple levels at once, can they be used to pick up a moonstone that started at depth greater than 1?

A. Yes, if Doug performs a harvest action on a stone with a depth value of say ‘2’ and manages to flip a 2 or 3, then he gains possession of the stone. Getting a Moonstone to 0 or less while in base contact and performing a Harvest Action is the requirement to gain possession. To give another example the Jackalope reduces a Moonstone’s depth value by 2 instead of 1 on the first harvest action they make in a turn, so they too could also gain possession of a stone that was showing a value greater than 1 at the start of the action. Note that Boulders Stone Song is not a Harvest action and so only ever drops a stone to a minimum of 1, and so can never result in him gaining possession even if he was in base contact at the time, since it’s an Arcane Ability and not a Harvest action.


Q. When Anya, Bartol transforms into Stryga Anya or vice-versa, does the activation continue, or is it ended and a new character added to the board with a further activation to come later in the turn?

A. Anya remains the same character as far as all game states are concerned and continues her same activation upon transformation. Any effects such as Stat modifications caused by abilities also persist on transformation and abilities that are Once Per Turn, such as jog do not refresh.


Q. What happens if the Gnomish or Gobin Airships lose the 'Up, up and Away' ability, for example due to Swiggarty Swooty's 'Punder' ? Can the grounded airship attack and be attacked in Melee.

A. The airships have no Melee Range and so cannot declare Melee Attacks and cannot deal Dmg when attacked. If they are attacked in Melee they only ever receive one Melee Card. Not that since they have no Melee Range, they do not engage enemies but they can be engaged while 'Up, up and Away' is absent. Grounded Airships can perform harvest actions as normal.


Q. The Revenant's 'Seen it All Before' ability says 'If this character is involved in a round of melee'. What is meant by 'involved in'?

A. 'Involved in' a Round of Melee means to be the Attacker or Defender. Simply engaging an Attacker or Defender does not enable this ability.